Five predictions for the future of education

I came across this interesting article about five trends in education that may seem a little off, but actually are very likely. There’s a couple very interesting points in there that I’ve been thinking about.

First, the article here.

I personally love the idea of micro-location learning, and would like to explore more of this. We spend so much time trying to figure out how to make learning more personal, interactive and “on the job”. Maybe this is part of the answer, maybe we can create real life scenarios without building expensive 3D simulations.

I can remember when I was a kid, I used to love treasure hunts. And it is now not impossible to imagine a creative, technology-enabled treasure hunt around the office, the university, the school, a museum etc. The bonus part is that we can get a real engagement from people who are either not comfortable with technology or are even illiterate! Anyone can follow audio instructions around a building, everyone can explore with their own eyes, hands, feet. Also, it doesn’t have to be a mandatory or group activity. It can be a job aid, part of a welcome kit… The possibilities are awesome, I get lit up just thinking about it!

The second interesting thing in the article for me is the part on open content. I’ve been exploring some of the open content from US Universities offered online (like MIT, Yale etc.) and I love it. Still, it looks and feels dry. Ok, it’s free so it’s only natural that there isn’t much effort to make it attractive and particularly different from taped classes. But I’d love to see a bit more effort into it, even if only for the students of these fine establishments to practice new ways to learn. I look forward to seeing some creativity on that front!

2 thoughts on “Five predictions for the future of education

  1. I’m glad you found my post relevant. Your take on these “predictions” (I use quotes because they are more of wishes of mine than simple predictions), is also refreshing. For instance, on the “dryness” of current open content: as you can see on my post, I am thankful organizations are offering free access content, but, to agree with you, this content seems too top-bottom (sage on the stage) without allowing learners to have much (if any) interaction with it other than “consume” it (watching, reading, or listening to the content). They also do not generally allow other educators to enhance, manipulate and re-share back to the community. So, in actuality, it is open access but not open source. Its a step toward freedom of purely educational content but not the end goal.

  2. I guess the dream is for institutions to allow other educators to use the content (giving due credit) and expand it, or even think up new ways to let students interact with it. Oh well, it’s ok to dream, I guess…

Leave a comment